So I went my three days without calling. Actually more. I’m not sure. 5? 6? My ‘prize’ was a cool little table which I spray painted the legs an awesome chrome. So it will match my kitchen cabinets. White and silver. It’s a cool 60’s kind of kitchen with silver counter tops. Kind of reminds me of the Jetsons. 😀

Anyway, it wasn’t that hard to not call him once I decided that I wasn’t going to. Not to mention that I was a little distracted by some new acquaintances I’ve made recently. That helped. I wasn’t just sitting at home. Alone.

Speaking of sitting at home… yesterday was a holiday. One of the first holidays I have had in a long time. I used to have to work every weekend and every holiday, so this was definitely long coming. I am tapering for a race I have this weekend, so I couldn’t just go workout for hours like I usually do whenever I have free time. So… I read.

I’ve been meaning to read ‘Angels and Demons’, the pre-cursor to ‘The Da Vinci Code’, but I just hadn’t gotten around to it. So… I woke up without an alarm (absolutely wonderful) at 6:15. I started wandering around the house and decided that it was just too early for me to be up on a holiday. I went back to bed. I slept until 8ish and decide that was good enough and picked up ‘Angels & Demons’. I continued to read until 4pm! Every time I thought about going for a swim, or a run, I just couldn’t put it down. I got up to fix myself something to eat and the entire time I was whipping up my tuna salad I felt as if I was missing something. Like the story would continue on without me and I would miss some important detail. It was crazy! I’ve never had that happen before. I mean I’ve read books that I had a hard time putting down, but never did I feel like I was missing out when I did. It was the oddest thing.

So anyway, I made it half-way through the 650 or so pages and decided that I had better get something done. I went for a short run and then to the hardware store for some paint and wooden dowels I needed. I spent the rest of the evening chillin’ with CLO, a little bit of vino, a little bit of ‘Freinds’, and quite a bit of appletinis. 🙂

It was a great day.

I am getting used to being single. And enjoying it. The fact that I can sit around and do nothing and then just decide when I am going out and where,without consulting or even a thought to anyone else. It’s great! I had forgotten what that felt like. That freedom. To do and be as I please.

