Something wakes me in the middle of the night. I open my eyes to see light. What? Did I leave a light on? I half sit-up. The door to my apartment is open. I hear a noise coming from the bathroom. Pulling the sheets up around me I sit up with a timid “hello?” A drunken man stumbles out of my bathroom and stares at me.

What is this? What’s going on? How did this happen?

“What are you doing? You need to leave?”

“No you leave!”

“What?”

Incoherent mumbling

“You need to get out now!”

More mumbling

“Leave now or I am calling the police”

“Go ahead, call the police”

How am I going to get out of this. I am naked. Protected only by a sheet and a comforter. What do I do? What is he going to do? I can’t just sit here!

I pull at the sheet, but it is tucked so tightly at the bottom that I cannot get it off the bed. I pull the comforter around me all bundled up hoping that he doesn’t get violent, or worse.

Finally as I reach for my phone he staggers out mumbling something about ‘fucking crazy bitches’. I slam the door closed behind him and lock all four locks. Crazy. When I moved in I laughed that there were four different locks. I’m in a secure building!

I broke down immediately. Shaking and crying. I didn’t know what to do. I called Jason. After I told him what happened and he determined that I was not hurt, he told me I needed to call the police. I felt silly calling them. Afterall, what could they do? He was gone, right?

The police came. Took a report. Searched the area. They found nothing. After they left I called Jason again to tell him that they came and everything was all right. There was no way I was going to be able to get any sleep. He invited me to sleep over there. Of course I jumped at it! Not because I wanted to be with him, but because I did not want to be there, alone. So, I went to Jason’s and he was very sweet. He held me and comforted me until I finally fell asleep. I think I got about 45′ before I had to get up.

When I went back to my apartment this morning there were two police cars sitting outside. I guess they were watching for him. That makes me feel good that they actually took it seriously and were doing something.

I left a note for my manager notifying her of the situation and requesting the locks be changed. After some nosing around, she found that my neighbor across the hall had about three guy friends over last night. One of them fit the description of the guy I saw. They were all still very drunk this morning. I guess he just went into the wrong apartment. I like to think that’s what it was.

What if I didn’t wake up? What if he just climbed into bed and found a naked woman? What if he had a weapon? What if he wasn’t alone? What if…

I haven’t felt that vulnerable in a very long time. I thought that after leaving home I would never have to feel that way again. I am still shaking as I write this.

I really do not want to be at work today.

Two crazy things associated with last night. One-I always lock the deadbolt behind me, even during the day. It is just a habit. for some reason I did not last night. Two-When I called Jason, he was wide awake. For some reason he had woken up about five minutes before I called.

I don’t know what that means, but it is eerie.

